Library and Media Center

Mrs. Sharon Busteed

Mission Statement: The goals of the library program are to promote reading, develop a collection to support the school curriculum, provide students instruction following the information literacy standards, and help teachers enhance their classroom curriculum through literature.  A selection policy is followed. The library is fully automated.

Library and Media Center Hours

8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

 Library Operation

Weekly library classes are scheduled for Kindergarten through fifth grades. Sixth and seventh graders visit during Literature class or as requested by subject area teachers.  However, students are welcome at any time with a library pass/teacher permission to research and check-out materials.

Our students participate each year in the Arkansas State Children's Book Award.

Primary grades read and vote for their favorite Arkansas Diamond Primary Award Winner and fourth, fifth, & sixth grades read and vote for their favorite Charlie May Simon Winner. Voting is in early April.  

Also, any fourth through sixth grade students who would like to do so may participate in a Battle of the Books(BOB) competition that is put on by the librarian.  The students are encouraged to read as many books as they are able to out of a list of 14 books (they are required to read at least 3 books off of the list to compete).  They are split up into teams and are asked questions about the book.  The team to get the most answers correct goes on to compete in the BOB competition in Conway in the spring. 


Please sign up to be a library volunteer - hours are great for completing your required service hours as a parent of St. Joseph School!

Award Books and Links

Arkansas Charlie May Simon Award (grades 4-6) 

Arkansas Diamond Award (K-grade 3) 

 Caldecott Picture Book Awards 

 Newbery Awards 
Favorite Authors/Illustrators Websites

3rd Grade and up 

Judy Blume: 
Patrick Carman: 
Beverly Cleary: 
Andrew Clements: 
Sharon Creech: 
Suzanne Collins: 
Roald Dahl: 
Dan Gutman: 
Margaret Haddix Peterson: 
Jeff Kinney: 
Gordon Korman: 
Ingrid Law: 
Lois Lowry: 
Christopher Paolini: 
Rick Riordan: 
J.K. Rowling: 
Louis Sachar: 
Jon Scieszka: 
Jerry Spinelli: 
Geronimo Stilton: 
K - 2nd Grade

Tedd Arnold:

Jan Brett:

Eric Carle:

Lauren Child:

Doreen Cronin:

Tomie dePaola:

Kevin Henkes:

Steven Kellogg:

Dr. Seuss:

Mo Willems:

Laura Numeroff:

Audrey Wood: 
Useful Links

Fayetteville Public Library: 

Book Fairs:

Battle of the Books Book List: 



The logo is the property of St. Joseph Catholic Church and School and can only be reproduced with the permission of Fr. Jason Tyler, pastor or Jason Pohlmeier, principal.

Powered by Ekklesia 360

Website Support